Mistletoe Accomplished:

Wednesday, November 30th, 2011
The Afterglow Book Reviews
“SANTA’S NICE LIST - This was the CUTEST anthology I've ever had the pleasure of reading! Delicious from beginning to end! Each author as talented as the last! My heart is still warm and filled with love! Christmas Treats Anthology: Santa’s Nice List was amazing from beginning to end!”
Mistletoe Accomplished was a delicious read! Grab your cocoa and let the snow fall in the background, this short story is sure to bring warmth into your heart. What better way to start the holiday with a delightful tale of an ex-food critic and a marvellous chef falling in love with one another. Maggie Devine had me salivating for decadent foods and a hunky hero. I loved every little morsel.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012
The in-box of Still Moments Publishing 
“In Mistletoe Accomplished, a modern-day heroine meets her match. Debut romance writer Devine weaves a festive tale that illustrates the undeniable power of fate when it comes to finding true love.”

As she comes face-to-face with the blinding headlights of an oncoming truck on a snowy night in Vermont, freelance journalist Lauren Webster has no idea that the driver is the feisty former New Yorker, Curtis Carmichael, who is about to sweep her off her feet in more ways than one. But little does she know that Curtis has just turned his back on his fiancĂ©e and left a successful career as an executive chef in order to return home to care for his ailing father. Turns out, Curtis’s disappearance is the reason why Lauren, once the most respected food critic in New York, was fired from her job nearly a year earlier. The problem is Lauren has no idea he is the famous chef who changed the course of her life forever. Meanwhile, Curtis is battling the overwhelming guilt that comes with knowing he ruined Lauren’s life. As the promise of love hangs in the balance, Lauren is about to discover all the reasons why her life has come full circle.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012
Sizzling Hot Books - Review 
I guess I'm a gal who prefers Nice to Naughty (who knew) because Christmas Treats #2 Santa's Nice List impressed me far more than The Naughty List. I thoroughly enjoyed each of the stories in this anthology. The pace was better, the stories interesting and funny, and the characters were great!
In Mistletoe Accomplished by Maggie Devine, New York Times food critic, Lauren Webster looses her job thanks to the defection of Chef Curtis from his restaurant after her glowing review. So, you would think she would be kind of miffed at the guy. But, it turns out loosing her job threw her into the opportunity of a lifetime, so all is forgiven. But, when Lauren and Chef Curtis meet he fears her ire and wants a chance to get to know her before he tells her the truth, so he hides his light under a bushel and gives her a real snow job (you'll get this reference when you read the story)

Hilarious happenings and lots of mistletoe definitely make Mistletoe Accomplished a mission accomplished.

Tuesday, January 31, 2012
What a great anthology written by three great authors. I love Romance, especially Romance set at Christmas time and this anthology didn't disappoint in any way.

The first story, Mistletoe Accomplished by Maggie Devine was definitely “devine”! This story had me hooked right away. Curtis and Lauren fought so well from the beginning it was bound to be interesting and there was the restaurant chef conflict that kept me as a reader guessing how things would turn out. Ms. Devine made her characters genuine and believable and this is a very well written story! Love it!

I would highly recommend this Christmas anthology even on the hottest day in the middle of summer !!

Krista Ames, Author


The White Lion:

Praise for Maggie Devine and The White Lion:
“I enjoyed this story immensely and love the English town setting with a small family owned pub in the middle of winter. This brilliant author has a unique way of incorporating the hero into the heroine's life unbeknownst to her. An absolute must read!”
K. Ames

Friday, January 20, 2012 
Jolene Perry
Shelves: fun-reads, own, recommend-to-anyone, will-re-read
Equal parts laughter and swoon, these stories are a fabulous romantic getaway.
The authors' stories play really well off one another, and they all have a knack for hot guys and witty dialogue. I found myself getting completely sucked into each story in such a delightful way.
I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes a good romantic comedy and some steamy goodness to go with them :D

Tuesday, January 31, 2012
Having sat down during a recent snowstorm with a hot cup of tea and my new Kindle, I downloaded a book recommended to me via a friend of a friend of a friend. I didn’t think I was one for short stories, but my mind has been changed thanks to this Anthology. All four were well written, each author bringing her own touch of magic to the pages, but “The White Lion” left me wanting more, and I mean that in a good way! I was upset when it ended. Can someone please ask Maggie Devine to re-write this short story into a full-length novel? I can’t decide if I am more in love with our hero or with the heroine’s Uncle. This story left me sighing and wishing I owned a Pub in England.

Sunday, February 5, 2012
Simply Stacie
Snowbound Hearts is a compilation of short stories, all romances, in an e-book format. All of these stories are everything a modern romance should be. Each one averages around 20-25 pages long and are perfect for the commute or wait in the doctor’s office.

“The White Lion” ‘s heroine is the local pub owner, Sophie Ashford. When she meets Shane Smith, the new owner of the estate of the local lord, she is fully prepared to dislike him. Having bought the birthright of the rightful heir, he has no way of knowing that half the town is against him before he arrives. The Lady Mary left so many years ago not everyone remembers that her brother isn’t the Lord of the Manor. He’s lost everything and sells the estate to Shane to pay off his debts. But there’s more to this story than meets the eye.

Easy reads and just enough to leave you wanting more. I wonder if any of these ladies have written anything else?
Simply Stacie

Tuesday, February 7, 2012
“Rebeca Rambles”
The White Lion by Maggie Devine
Just as I thought I had the story figured out, I was completely wrong. I kept trying to guess what was going to happen next, but I couldn’t. My favorite character of this story has to be Shane. There’s something about his character that just screams sexy. He’s arrogant, cocky, and everything you love to hate in a guy. Great read!
Rebeca Valdez of “Rebeca Rambles”


The 14 Days of Valentines:

February 8th, 2012
The 14 Days of Valentines by Maggie Devine.
A woman lawyer suddenly gets a secret admirer who sends her expensive gifts everyday starting Feb 1 till Valentine's Day when she's supposed to don her new dress, earrings, and bracelet and meet her potential suitor for a fancy dinner. Who is the man? Is it her boss, John, who has been trying to convince her for some time that they would be good together? Or is it HIS boss whose she's had HER eyes on, but is otherwise taken? Or is it that man upstairs who just wants to bed her?

Liked: I honestly didn't know who it was till it was revealed. Common sense kept telling me it was the guy she wanted it to be, BUT there were enough doubts in the story to keep me on my toes. I started questioning the happily ever after and who it may be with.


Manatee Key:
None as of yet

No comments:

Post a Comment